You are here:

Community safety work gets MPs’ attention

Senior members of Pakistan’s Parliament have paid a visit to Waltham Forest to learn about the range of work being carried out to tackle extremism.

The delegation chose to come to the borough having heard about the proactive work undertaken by the Council and local police to combat extremism and prevent radicalisation.

On Friday 5 December, the cross-party MPs took part in a question and answer session with Cllr Liaquat Ali MBE JP, the Council’s Cabinet Member for Community Safety and Cohesion, and Council and police officers after listening to presentations about community safety and cohesion initiatives in Waltham Forest.

This included projects aimed at early intervention, such as helping educate school children about the dangers of radicalisation, and strategies used to address extremist content on the internet.

Council officers also outlined efforts to promote community cohesion and introduced the MPs to Mike Jervis, Director of borough-based Active Change Foundation, who talked about the Foundation’s work to encourage better community integration and confront and prevent violent extremism.

Cllr Ali MBE JP said: “The delegation expressed a great deal of interest in the work we’ve been doing with local partners and community organisations to tackle extremism and radicalisation, and to have this work recognised in such a way is obviously good news for Waltham Forest.

“We continue to do all we can to promote community cohesion and combat extremism through a range of initiatives and outreach projects – and taking opportunities to share examples of best practice will only help reinforce our efforts.”

The visit – hosted by the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association UK – was part of a four-day programme designed to give Pakistan’s MPs an insight into the work carried out by different authorities and organisations to support the UK’s national security.

To learn about the work of the Council’s community safety team visit

Notes to editors

The delegation of MPs from Pakistan included:

  • Senator Muhammad Mohsin Khan Leghari, Member Senate Standing Committee on Defence

  • Omar Ayub Khan, MNA, Chairman National Assembly Standing Committee on Finance, Revenue, Economic Affairs, Statistics & Privatization

  • Senator Nawabzada Saifullah Magsi, Member Senate Standing Committees on Cabinet Secretariat, Water and Power, Law and Justice and Parliamentary Affairs

  • Sufyan Yusuf, MNA, Chairman, National Assembly Standing Committee on Communication

  • Syeda Zahra Fatemi, MNA, Member National Assembly’s Standing Committees on Information Technology and Telecommunication; National Health Services, Regulations and Coordination

  • Ahmed Bilal Mehboob, President of the Pakistan Institute of Legislative Development and Transparency (PILDAT)

  • Aasiya Riaz, Joint Director PILDAT

If you would like more information about any of these press releases or have a different media enquiry please contact us at or on 020 8496 4521 / 4802.

For out of hours please email or call 07966 915 157.